Lung Cancer Home > Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment

Types of Treatment for Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Standard treatments for non-small cell lung cancer include:
Three types of lung cancer surgery for treating non-small cell lung cancer include:
  • Wedge resection: A surgical procedure to remove a triangle-shaped slice of tissue. It may be used to remove a tumor and a small amount of normal tissue around it.
  • Lobectomy: A surgical procedure to remove a whole lobe (section) of the lung.


  • Pneumonectomy: Surgery to remove one whole lung.
Chemotherapy is a treatment that uses drugs to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping the cells from dividing.
When lung cancer chemotherapy is taken by mouth or injected into a vein or muscle, the drugs enter the bloodstream and can reach cancer cells throughout the body (systemic chemotherapy). When chemotherapy is placed directly into the spinal column, an organ, or a body cavity such as the abdomen, the drugs mainly affect cancer cells in those areas (regional chemotherapy). The way the chemotherapy is given for non-small cell lung cancer depends on the type and stage of the cancer being treated.
Written by/reviewed by:
Last reviewed by: Arthur Schoenstadt, MD
Last updated/reviewed:
List of references (click here):
Other Articles in This eMedTV Presentation




Related Channels

eMedTV Links
Copyright © 2006-2020 Clinaero, Inc.

eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.

This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.